Connecticut Insurance Agent Continuing Education and License Renewal Requirements
Connecticut Major Lines Licensed Agents must take 24 Credit Hours of Approved Continuing Education every 2 years, prior to their Expiration Date.
At least 3 of the 24 credit hours must be approved for Ethics Training.
Major Lines include:
- Life, Accident and Health
- Personal Lines
Producers licensed in multiple lines are only required to meet the same requirements as agents with single lines of licensing.
Connecticut CE Requirements are “Non-License Type Specific.” Producers can take courses in any subject matter as long as:
- They are approved by the Connecticut Department of Insurance
- At least 3 of credit hours are approved for Ethics training
Continuing Education requirements must be completed every 2 years, on or before the licensee’s birth date.
Connecticut will only waive the CE Requirement for licensees serving in the US military on active duty outside the state of Connecticut during a substantial part of the compliance period and other emergency situations.
Producer licenses with the following lines of authority are not required to complete Continuing Education:
- Credit Only Licensees
- Travel Only Licensees
Connecticut Insurance Agent CE & Renewal Requirements Summary
|Life Settlement Broker Only (Renewals due March 31st of every year)||15 hours relating to Life and Health every two years|
Special Training Requirements
Property and Casualty Agents
Producers who sell Flood Insurance must complete a one-time, 3 Hour Continuing Education course related to NFIP (National Flood Insurance Program) prior to selling.
Life and Health Agents
A producer who sells, solicits or negotiates an Annuity Product must complete a one-time, 4 Hour Annuity Suitability course prior to selling.
Long Term Care
Producers must meet The Partnership Training Program in two separate parts:
- The first component is to complete the Prerequisite Online Course.
- Once the producer passes the exam for the Prerequisite Online Course, the producer must complete a four hour classroom course conducted by the Connecticut Partnership Staff.
Enroll Today with No Regrets!
If you change your mind, we’ll happily refund your full purchase price.
Your License is Eligible for Renewal during your “License Renewal Period”. The License Renewal Period for Connecticut Licensed Agents begins 90 Days prior to their Expiration Date. There are 2 Options for Renewing your license:
- Online through NIPR, located here: CT Producer Renewal (NIPR)
- Online through Vertifore (Sircon): CT Producer Renewal (Sircon)
BetterCE License Renewal Service. BetterCE can process your renewal on your behalf for a fee of $20. Simply contact our office when you are ready to renew and we will process your application on your behalf.
While we strive to provide you with the most up to date and accurate information about your Connecticut Insurance License Renewal Requirements, there may be some specific licensing requirements, or changes in State Laws or Insurance Regulations which we may not be referenced above. Our goal is to assist you in every manner possible, but it is the responsibility of each individual agent to determine their specific licensing renewal requirements. You can locate additional information related to the Connecticut CE Requirements through the Department of Insurance website at www.ct.gov