Delaware Insurance Agent Continuing Education and License Renewal Requirements
Delaware Major Lines Licensed Producers must take 24 Credit Hours of Approved Continuing Education every 2 years, prior to the Expiration Date.
At least 3 of the 24 credit hours must be approved for Ethics Training.
Major Lines include:
- Variable Annuities
- Personal Lines
Producers licensed in multiple lines are only required to meet the same requirements as producers with single lines of licensing.
Delaware CE Requirements are “Non-License Type Specific.” Producers can take courses in any subject matter as long as:
- They are approved by the Delaware Department of Insurance
- At Least 3 of credit hours are approved for ethics training
Continuing Education requirements must be completed every 2 years, on or before the last day of February in odd numbered years.
Producer licenses with the following lines of authority are not required to complete Continuing Education:
- Limited Line Credit Only
- Resident Adjusters
- By Waiver Only, a producer may be exempt due to long term illness or incapacity and any other emergency situations deemed appropriate by the Department
Delaware Insurance Agent CE and Renewal Requirements Summary
|Producers licensed consecutively more than 25 years||12 hours (3 hours must be in Ethics)|
|Variable (must also be licensed in Life)||24 hours (3 hours must be in Ethics)|
|Resident and Public Adjuster Only||12 hours (3 hours must be in Ethics)|
|Fraternal Producers||12 hours (3 hours must be in Ethics)|
Special Training Requirements
Property and Casualty Agents
Producers who is authorized to write homeowners or personal lines coverage is required to complete a 2 Hour continuing education course related to NFIP (National Flood Insurance Program) prior to selling.
Life and Health Agents
Long Term Care
Resident Producers holding a health license and who solicit long term care policies must complete at least three (3) hours of training in Delaware long term care insurance that consists of product knowledge, laws, rules and regulations as part of his/her biennial requirement.
Any agent who sells, solicits or negotiates an Annuity Product must complete a one-time, 4 Hour Annuity Suitability course prior to selling.
Additional Continuing Education Information
Excess credits of up to 5 credit hours may be carried forward to the next filing period. Excess Ethics Training will not be carried over.
Enroll Today with No Regrets!
If you change your mind, we’ll happily refund your full purchase price.
Your License is Eligible for Renewal during your “License Renewal Period”. The License Renewal Period for Delaware Licensed Producers begins December 1st of odd years.
There are 2 Options for Renewing your license:
- Online through NIPR, located here: DE Producer Renewal (NIPR)
- Online through Vertifore (Sircon): DE Producer Renewal (Sircon)
BetterCE License Renewal Service. BetterCE can process your renewal on your behalf for a fee of $20. Simply contact our office when you are ready to renew and we will process your application on your behalf.
While we strive to provide you with the most up to date and accurate information about your Delaware Insurance License Renewal Requirements, there may be some specific licensing requirements, or changes in State Laws or Insurance Regulations which we may not be referenced above. Our goal is to assist you in every manner possible, but it is the responsibility of each individual producer to determine their specific licensing renewal requirements. You can locate additional information related to the Delaware CE Requirements through the Department of Insurance website at www.delawareinsurance.gov