Idaho Insurance Agent Continuing Education and License Renewal Requirements
Idaho Major Lines Licensed Agents must take 24 Credit Hours of Approved Continuing Education every 2 years, prior to their Expiration Date. At least 3 of the 24 credit hours must be approved for Ethics Training.
Major Lines include:
- Health and Sickness
- Personal Lines
Insurance Producers licensed in multiple lines are only required to meet the same requirements as Producers with single lines of licensing.
Idaho CE Requirements are “Non-License Type Specific.” Agents can take courses in any subject matter as long as::
- They are approved by the Idaho Department of Insurance
- At least 3 of credit hours are approved for Ethics training
Continuing Education requirements must be completed every 2 years, before the last day of the licensee’s birth month.
Idaho Insurance CE Exemptions
Producer licenses with the following lines of authority are not required to complete Continuing Education:
- Producer, Business Entity
- Non-resident Producer
- Limited Lines Only Producer
- Surplus Lines Producer
Idaho Insurance Agent CE and Renewal Requirements Summary
|Resident Producer or Adjuster||24 hours (3 hours must be in Ethics)|
Special Training Requirements
Idaho Property and Casualty Agents
A producer who sells Flood Insurance must complete a one-time, 3-Hour NFIP Training Course (National Flood Insurance Program) prior to selling.
Idaho Life and Health Agents
Long Term Care
A producer may not sell, solicit, or negotiate Long-Term Care Insurance unless the individual has completed an initial 8 Hour Long Term Care training course. Producers must also complete ongoing training consisting of a 4-Hour Long Term Care training course every compliance period following.
Additional Continuing Education Information
A producer may not carryover any excess hours accrued to the next compliance period. Any hour above the hours needed for the current requirement period will be lost.
Enroll Today with No Regrets!
If you change your mind, we’ll happily refund your full purchase price.
Idaho License Renewal Guidelines
Your Insurance License is Eligible for Renewal during your “License Renewal Period.” The License Renewal Period for Idaho Licensed Producers begins 90 Days prior to their Expiration Date.
There are 2 Options for Renewing your license:
- Online through NIPR, located here: ID Producers Renewal (NIPR)
- Online through Vertifore (Sircon): ID Producers Renewal (Sircon)
While we strive to provide you with the most up to date and accurate information about your Idaho Insurance License Renewal Requirements, there may be some specific licensing requirements, or changes in State Laws or Insurance Regulations which we may not be referenced above. Our goal is to assist you in every manner possible, but it is the responsibility of each individual producer to determine his or her specific licensing renewal requirements. You can locate additional information related to the Idaho CE Requirements through the Department of Insurance website at https://doi.idaho.gov/industry/licensing-services/continuing-education/ce-producer/?accordion=ui-id-17