Illinois Insurance Agent Continuing Education and License Renewal Requirements
Illinois Major Lines Licensed Producers must take 24 Credit Hours of Approved Continuing Education every 2 years, prior to their Expiration Date.
At least 3 of the 24 credit hours must be approved for Ethics Training. Ethics courses must be taken in person in a classroom setting or by webinar.
Major Lines include:
- Personal Lines
- Motor Vehicles
Agents licensed in multiple lines are only required to meet the same requirements as agents with single lines of licensing.
Illinois CE Requirements are “Non-License Type Specific.” Agents can take courses in any subject matter as long as:
- They are approved by the Illinois Department of Insurance
- At least 3 of credit hours are approved for Ethics credit (in person classroom course or webinar required)
Continuing Education Requirements must be completed every 2 years, on or before the last day of the licensee’s birth month.
The following License Types are exempt to CE Requirements in Illinois.
- Temporary License
- Limited Lines
- Limited Travel Health
- Trip Cancellation
- Industrial Life
- Industrial Health
Special Training Requirements
Property and Casualty Agents
Producers who sell Flood Insurance must complete a one-time, 3 Hour Continuing Education course related to NFIP (National Flood Insurance Program) prior to selling.
Life and Health Agents
Any producer who sells, solicits or negotiates an Annuity Product must complete a one-time, 4 Hour Annuity Suitability Training course prior to selling.
Long Term Care
A producer may not sell, solicit or negotiate a Long-Term Care policy unless they have completed an initial 8 Hour Long Term Care Training course. These agents must also complete a 4 Hour Long Term Care Training course every compliance period following.
Additional Continuing Education Information
Excess credits of up to 12 credits may be carried forward to the next compliance period. Excess Ethics Training carries over as General Credit and will not be applied to future Ethics Training Requirements.
Enroll Today with No Regrets!
If you change your mind, we’ll happily refund your full purchase price.
Your License is Eligible for Renewal during your “License Renewal Period.” The License Renewal Period for Illinois Licensed Agents begins 90 Days prior to your Expiration Date.
To Renew your license, complete a renewal application online at:
- Online through NIPR, located here: IL Agent Renewal (NIPR)
BetterCE License Renewal Service. BetterCE can process your renewal on your behalf for a fee of $20. Simply contact our office when you are ready to renew and we will process your application on your behalf.
While we strive to provide you with the most up to date and accurate information about your Illinois Insurance License Renewal Requirements, there may be some specific licensing requirements, or changes in State Laws or Insurance Regulations which we may not be referenced above. Our goal is to assist you in every manner possible, but it is the responsibility of each individual agent to determine their specific licensing renewal requirements. You can locate additional information related to the Illinois CE Requirements through the Department of Insurance website at insurance.illinois.gov