Kansas Insurance Agent Continuing Education and License Renewal Requirements
Kansas Major Lines Licensed Agents must take 12 Credit Hours of Approved Continuing Education every 2 years per category type of licensing, prior to their Expiration Date.
Major Lines include:
- Personal Lines
Agents licensed in multiple lines are required to complete 12 Credit Hours per Category of Licensing.
Kansas CE Requirements are “License Type Specific.” Agents must take courses in the subject matter of licensing and:
- They are approved by the Kansas Department of Insurance
- At least 1 of credit hours are approved for Ethics training (per category of licensing)
Continuing Education requirements must be completed every 2 years, prior the producer’s date of birth. Producers with an odd-numbered birth year will renew in odd years and producers with an even-numbered birth year will renew in even years.
Producer licenses are perpetual and are not required to submit renewal requests. Licenses will extend for another 2 years if the Continuing Education requirements are completed prior to your license expiration date.
Agents holding a life license solely for the purpose of selling pre-need insurance shall provide affirmation that no other insurance business was transacted during the current renewal period and no Continuing Education hours are required to renew the limited lines license of pre-need.
Kansas Insurance Agent CE & Renewal Requirements Summary
|Crop||2 hours (1 hour must be in Ethics)|
|Title Only||4 hours (1 hour must be in Ethics)|
|Pre-Need Only||Affirm pre-need business only|
Special Training Requirements
Property and Casualty Agents
Agents licensed in the Property line of authority that will be selling Flood Insurance must complete a one-time, 3 Hour continuing education course related to NFIP (National Flood Insurance Program).
Life and Health Agents
Any agent who sells, solicits or negotiates an Annuity Product must complete a one-time, 4 Hour Annuity Suitability course prior to selling. Producers are also required to complete on an ongoing basis company-sponsored product specific training course sponsored by the insurance company offering the product.
Long Term Care
An agent may not sell, solicit or negotiate a Long-Term Care Partnership policy unless the individual has completed an initial 4 Hour Long Term Care training course. Agents must also complete ongoing training consisting of a 1 Hour Long Term Care training course every compliance period following.
While we strive to provide you with the most up to date and accurate information about your Kansas Insurance License Renewal Requirements, there may be some specific licensing requirements, or changes in State Laws or Insurance Regulations which we may not be referenced above. Our goal is to assist you in every manner possible, but it is the responsibility of each individual agent to determine their specific licensing renewal requirements. You can locate additional information related to the Kansas CE Requirements through the Department of Insurance website at www.ksinsurance.org