Louisiana Insurance Agent Continuing Education and License Renewal Requirements
Louisiana Major Lines Licensed Agents must take 24 Credit Hours of Approved Continuing Education every 2 years, prior to their Expiration Date. At least 3 of the 24 credit hours must be approved for Ethics Training.
Major Lines include:
- Life, Accident and Health
- Personal Lines
Producers licensed in multiple lines are only required to meet the same Continuing Education Requirements as producers with single lines of licensing, but must renew every year according to the license type. The CE Requirements must be met in the odd-numbered years for multi-licensed producers.
Louisiana CE Requirements are “License Type Specific.” Agents must take courses in a subject matter related to their License Type and that:
- Is approved by the Louisiana Department of Insurance
- Include at least 3 of credit hours are approved for Ethics training
Individual Producers licensed in Property, Casualty, Personal Lines, Title, Industrial Fire, Surety, Bail Bonds or Surplus Lines have an expiration date of the last day of their birth month, every odd-numbered year, every two years.
Individual Producers licensed in Life, Health and Accident, Variable Life and Variable Annuity, Limited Lines Life, Credit or Travel have an expiration date of the last day of their birth month, every even-numbered year, every two years.
Continuing Education requirements must be completed every 2 years, on or before the last day of the licensee’s birth month, depending on the license type.
If you meet the following qualifications, you are exempt from CE in the state of Louisiana:
- You are over the age of 65 on or before January 1, 2012 and have 15 years of experience
Louisiana Insurance CE and Renewal Requirements Summary
|Adjuster||24 hours (3 hours must be in Ethics)|
|Bail Bonds||12 hours|
|Title||12 hours (2 hours must be in Consumer Financial Protection)|
Special Training Requirements
Property and Casualty Agents
Producers licensed in the Property, Casualty or Personal Lines line of authority that will be selling Flood Insurance–must complete a one-time, 3 Hour continuing education course related to NFIP (National Flood Insurance Program).
Life and Health Agents
Any producer who sells, solicits or negotiates an Annuity Product must complete a one-time, 4 Hour Annuity Suitability course prior to selling.
Long Term Care
A producer may not sell, solicit or negotiate a Long-Term Care Partnership policy unless the individual has completed an initial 8 Hour Long Term Care training course. Agents must also complete ongoing training consisting of a 4 Hour Long Term Care training course every compliance period following.
Enroll Today with No Regrets!
If you change your mind, we’ll happily refund your full purchase price.
Your License is Eligible for Renewal during your “License Renewal Period”. The License Renewal Period for Louisiana Licensed Agents begins 60 Days prior to their Expiration Date.
There are 3 Options for Renewing your license:
- Online through NIPR, located here: LA Agent Renewal (NIPR)
- Online through Vertifore (Sircon): LA Agent Renewal (Sircon)
- Online through Louisiana Department of Insurance Industry Access Portal: LA Agent Renewal
While we strive to provide you with the most up to date and accurate information about your Louisiana Insurance License Renewal Requirements, there may be some specific licensing requirements, or changes in State Laws or Insurance Regulations which we may not be referenced above. Our goal is to assist you in every manner possible, but it is the responsibility of each individual agent to determine their specific licensing renewal requirements. You can locate additional information related to the Louisiana CE Requirements through the Department of Insurance website at www.ldi.la.gov