Massachusetts Insurance Agent Continuing Education and License Renewal Requirements
Massachusetts Major Lines Licensed Producers must take 45 or 60 Credit Hours (depending on length of licensure) of Approved Continuing Education every 3 years, prior to their Expiration Date.
At least 3 of the credit hours must be approved for Ethics Training.
Major Lines include:
- Life, Accident and Health or Sickness
- Variable Annuity and Variable Life
- Personal Lines
Producers licensed in multiple lines are only required to meet the same requirements as roducers with single lines of licensing.
Producers licensed AFTER April 4, 1983 must complete the following Continuing Education requirements:
- 60 hours of instruction during the first 36 month period following the date of issuance
- 45 hours of instruction each subsequent 36 month period
Massachusetts CE Requirements are “Non-License Type Specific.” Producers can take courses in any subject matter as long as:
- They are approved by the Massachusetts Department of Insurance
- At least 3 of credit hours are approved for Ethics training
Continuing Education Requirements must be completed every 3 years, on or before your birthdate.
Producer licenses with the following lines of authority are not required to complete Continuing Education:
- Anyone licensed prior to April 4, 1983 who have remained continuously licensed in the same line are exempt from Continuing Education
Massachusetts Insurance CE and Renewal Requirements Summary
|Public Adjuster||15 hours|
Special Training Requirements
Property and Casualty Agents
Producers who sell Flood Insurance must complete a one-time, 3 Hour continuing education course related to NFIP (National Flood Insurance Program) prior to selling.
Life and Health Agents
As of December 31, 2016, any producer who sells, solicits or negotiates an Annuity Product must complete a one-time, 4 Hour Annuity Suitability course prior to selling.
Long Term Care
A producer may not sell, solicit or negotiate Long-Term Care Insurance unless the individual has completed an initial 8 Hour Long Term Care training course. Producers must also complete ongoing training consisting of a 4 Hour Long Term Care training course every compliance period following.
Additional Continuing Education Information
Excess credits may be carried forward to the next compliance period. Excess Ethics Training carries over as General Credit and will not be applied to future Ethics Training Requirements.
Enroll Today with No Regrets!
If you change your mind, we’ll happily refund your full purchase price.
Your License is Eligible for Renewal during your “License Renewal Period”. The License Renewal Period for Massachusetts Licensed Agents begins 60 Days prior to their Expiration Date. There are 3 Options for Renewing your license:
- Online through NIPR, located here: MA Agent Renewal (NIPR)
- Online through Vertifore (Sircon): MA Agent Renewal (Sircon)
- Renewal via Paper Application: MA Producer Renewal (Paper Application)
BetterCE License Renewal Service. BetterCE can process your renewal on your behalf for a fee of $20. Simply contact our office when you are ready to renew and we will process your application on your behalf.
While we strive to provide you with the most up to date and accurate information about your Massachusetts Insurance License Renewal Requirements, there may be some specific licensing requirements, or changes in State Laws or Insurance Regulations which we may not be referenced above. Our goal is to assist you in every manner possible, but it is the responsibility of each individual producer to determine their specific licensing renewal requirements. You can locate additional information related to the Massachusetts CE Requirements through the Department of Insurance website at www.mass.gov