Michigan Insurance Agent Continuing Education and License Renewal Requirements
Michigan Producers must take 24 Credit Hours of Approved Continuing Education every 2 years, prior to their Continuing Education Review Date (“CERD”).
At least 3 of the 24 Credit Hours must be in the category of Ethics.
Individual Producers licensed in multiple lines are only required to meet the same requirements as agents with single lines of licensing.
Michigan CE Requirements are “Non-License Type Specific.” Agents can take courses in any subject matter as long as:
- They are approved by the Michigan Department of Insurance
- At least 3 credit hours are approved as Ethics credit
Producer licenses with the following lines of authority are perpetual and are not required to submit renewal requests:
- Life, Accident and Health
Your license will extend for another 2 years if the Continuing Education requirements are completed prior to your license expiration date (CERD).
Continuing Education Requirements must be completed every 2 years, on or before the first day of the licensee’s birth month. Licensees who fail to meet their Continuing Education requirements by the end of their compliance period and have not received an extension or exemption will have their license(s) suspended for CE noncompliance.
Your license will be suspended for a period of 90 days or until your 24-hour requirement is met. During suspension, the law allows you to service your existing book of business BUT you may NOT transact any new insurance business. All carriers for which you are appointed will be notified that you are suspended and that they may NOT accept any new business from you as of the date they are notified.
A licensed insurance producer who is currently on active military duty or deployment may be granted a waiver from CE Requirement. A licensee who has a terminal illness or due to illness of self or spouse that required an inordinate amount of time for care by the licensee may also request a CE requirement waiver.
Producer licenses with the following lines of authority are not required to complete Continuing Education:
- Those who hold a Limited Life License
- Those who hold a Turkey, Crop, and Hail License
- Those who hold a Travel, Accident, and Baggage License
- Those who hold a Title License
- Those who hold a Credit Products License
- Adjusters do not have a CE requirement unless they are also a producer or solicitor.
Special Training Requirements
Property and Casualty Agents
Producers licensed in the Property Line of Authority that will be selling Flood Insurance, must complete a one-time, 3 Hour Continuing Education course related to NFIP (National Flood Insurance Program).
Life and Health Agents
Any producer who sells, solicits or negotiates an Annuity product must complete a one-time, 4 Hour Annuity Suitability Training course prior to selling.
Long Term Care
Effective February 22, 2016, an individual shall not sell, solicit, or negotiate long-term care insurance unless the individual is licensed for Accident and Health or Life, and has completed a one-time long-term care training course by February 22, 2017, as described in Public Act 198. The one-time long-term care training course must not be less than 8 hours. The ongoing training must not be less than 4 hours and must be completed every 2-year CE review period after the completion of the one-time 8-hour training course.
While we strive to provide you with the most up to date and accurate information about your Michigan Insurance License Renewal Requirements, there may be some specific licensing requirements, or changes in State Laws or Insurance Regulations which we may not be referenced above. Our goal is to assist you in every manner possible, but it is the responsibility of each individual agent to determine their specific licensing renewal requirements. You can locate additional information related to the Michigan CE Requirements through the Department of Insurance website at www.michigan.gov