New Jersey Insurance Agent Continuing Education and License Renewal Requirements
New Jersey Major Lines Licensed Producers must take 24 Credit Hours of Approved Continuing Education every 2 years, prior to their Expiration Date.
At least 3 of the 24 credit hours must be approved for Ethics Training.
Individual Producers include:
- Life, Accident & Health or Sickness
- Personal Lines
- Title and Surplus Lines
Producers licensed in multiple lines are only required to meet the same requirements as agents with single lines of licensing.
New Jersey CE Requirements are “Non-License Type Specific.” Producers can take courses in any subject matter as long as:
- They are approved by the New Jersey Department of Insurance
- At least 3 credit hours are approved as Ethics credit
Continuing Education Requirements must be completed every 2 years, on or before the last day of the licensee’s birth month.
Limited Lines Producers are not required to complete any Pre-Licensing or Continuing Education.
New Jersey Insurance CE and Renewal Requirements Summary
|Public Adjuster||15 hours|
Special Training Requirements
Property and Casualty Agents
Producers authorized to sell flood insurance have a one time requirement to take 3 credits in an approved (NFIP) Flood Insurance course.
Life and Health Agents
Any agent who sells, solicits or negotiates an Annuity Product must complete a one-time, 4 Hour Annuity Suitability Training course prior to selling.
Long Term Care
An agent may not sell, solicit or negotiate a Long-Term Care policy unless they have completed an initial 8 Hour Long Term Care Training course. These agents must also complete a 4 Hour Long Term Care Training course every compliance period following.
Enroll Today with No Regrets!
If you change your mind, we’ll happily refund your full purchase price.
Your License is Eligible for Renewal during your License Renewal Period. The Renewal Period for New Jersey Licensed Agents begins 60 Days prior to your Expiration Date. There are 3 Options for Renewing your license:
- Online through NIPR, located here: NJ Agent Renewal (NIPR)
- Online through Vertifore (Sircon): NJ Agent Renewal (Sircon)
- Mail-In Paper Application: Mail-In Form
BetterCE License Renewal Service. BetterCE can process your renewal on your behalf for a fee of $20. Simply contact our office when you are ready to renew and we will process your application on your behalf.
While We strive to provide you with the most up to date and accurate information about your New Jersey Insurance License Renewal Requirements, there may be some specific licensing requirements, or changes in State Laws or Insurance Regulations of which we may not be aware. Our goal is to assist you in every manner possible, but it is the responsibility of each individual agent to determine their specific licensing renewal requirements. You can locate the New Jersey CE Requirements through the Department of Insurance website at NJ CE Requirements