North Carolina Insurance Agent Continuing Education and License Renewal Requirements
North Carolina Producers must take 24 Credit Hours of Approved Continuing Education every 2 years, prior to their Expiration Date.
At least 3 of the 24 Credit Hours must be in the category of Ethics.
Individual Producers licensed in multiple lines are only required to meet the same requirements as agents with single lines of licensing.
North Carolina CE Requirements are “Non-License Type Specific.” Agents can take courses in any subject matter as long as:
- They are approved by the North Carolina Department of Insurance
- At least 3 credit hours are approved as Ethics credit
Producer licenses with the following lines of authority are perpetual and are not required to submit renewal requests:
- Life, Accident & Health or Sickness
- Personal Lines
- Variable Life & Variable Annuity Products
- Medicare Supplement/Long Term Care.
Licensees who fail to meet their Continuing Education requirements by the end of their compliance period and have not received an extension or exemption will have their license(s) expired for CE noncompliance.
- A licensed insurance producer who is unable to comply with Continuing Education Requirements due to military service or long-term medical disability may request a waiver from the Continuing Education Requirements.
- Credit Insurance Producers are not required to complete any Pre-Licensing or Continuing Education.
- CE exemptions based on age (65 years or older), years of continuous licensure (at least 25 years) and professional designation or inactive agent status are no longer issued. Anyone issued this exemption prior to October 1, 2010 will continue to be exempt from the 24-hour requirement and the mandatory hours in ethics and flood (if applicable).
North Carolina Insurance CE Requirements Summary
|Self-Employed Insurance Adjuster (*expires annually on 3/31)||24 hours (3 hours must be in Ethics)|
|Surplus Lines (* expires annually on 8/31)||Must hold a Property Line of Authority to obtain a Surplus Line License, no additional CE is required for the Surplus Line of Authority.|
Special Training Requirements
Property and Casualty Agents
All resident agents that hold property or personal lines, all resident adjusters, and any nonresident adjusters with North Carolina CE requirements, must complete 3 hours of flood in the first compliance period and then every other compliance period thereafter (every 4 years).
Life and Health Agents
Long Term Care
An agent may not sell, solicit or negotiate a Long-Term Care Partnership policy unless they have completed an initial 8 Hour Long Term Care Training course and hold a Medicare Supplement License. These agents must also complete a 4 Hour Long Term Care Training course every compliance period following.
Enroll Today with No Regrets!
If you change your mind, we’ll happily refund your full purchase price.
Additional Continuing Education Information
- Any amount of excess credits may be carried forward to the next compliance period.
- Excess Ethics Training carries over as General Credit and will not be applied to future Ethics Training Requirements.
While we strive to provide you with the most up to date and accurate information about your North Carolina Insurance License Requirements, there may be some specific licensing requirements, or changes in State Laws or Insurance Regulations which we may not be referenced above. Our goal is to assist you in every manner possible, but it is the responsibility of each individual agent to determine their specific licensing requirements. You can locate additional information related to the North Carolina CE Requirements through the Department of Insurance website at www.ncdoi.com