South Carolina Insurance Agent Continuing Education and License Renewal Requirements
South Carolina Major Lines Licensed Agents must take 24 Credit Hours of Approved Continuing Education every 2 years, prior to their Expiration Date. At least 3 of the 24 credit hours must be approved for Ethics Training.
Major Lines include:
- Health and Sickness
- Personal Lines
Insurance Producers licensed in multiple lines are only required to meet the same requirements as Producers with single lines of licensing.
South Carolina CE Requirements are “License Type Specific.” Producers who hold multiple lines of authority must complete at least 8 of the 24 required hours in courses related to each of their line of authority, and as long as:
- They are approved by the South Carolina Department of Insurance
- At least 3 of credit hours are approved for Ethics training
Continuing Education requirements must be completed every 2 years, before the last day of the licensee’s birth month.
South Carolina Insurance CE Exemptions
Producer licenses with the following lines of authority are not required to complete Continuing Education:
- Non-resident Producer
South Carolina Insurance Agent CE and Renewal Requirements Summary
|Resident Producer or Adjuster||24 hours (3 hours must be in Ethics)|
Special Training Requirements
South Carolina Property and Casualty Agents
A producer who sells Flood Insurance must complete a one-time, 3-Hour NFIP Training Course (National Flood Insurance Program) prior to selling.
South Carolina Life and Health Agents
Long Term Care
A producer may not sell, solicit, or negotiate Long-Term Care Insurance unless the individual has completed an initial 8 Hour Long Term Care training course. Producers must also complete ongoing training consisting of a 4-Hour Long Term Care training course every compliance period following.
Additional Continuing Education Information
A producer may carryover a maximum of 18 hours to the next compliance period.
Enroll Today with No Regrets!
If you change your mind, we’ll happily refund your full purchase price.
South Carolina License Renewal Guidelines
Your Insurance License is Eligible for Renewal during your “License Renewal Period.” The License Renewal Period for South Carolina Licensed Producers begins 90 Days prior to their Expiration Date.
There are 2 Options for Renewing your license:
- Online through NIPR, located here: SC Producers Renewal (NIPR)
- Online through Vertafore (Sircon): SC Producers Renewal (Sircon)
While we strive to provide you with the most up to date and accurate information about your South Carolina Insurance License Renewal Requirements, there may be some specific licensing requirements, or changes in State Laws or Insurance Regulations which we may not be referenced above. Our goal is to assist you in every manner possible, but it is the responsibility of each individual producer to determine his or her specific licensing renewal requirements. You can locate additional information related to the South Carolina CE Requirements through the Department of Insurance website at https://www.doi.sc.gov/399/Continuing-Education