Tennessee Insurance Agent Continuing Education and License Renewal Requirements
Tennessee Major Lines Licensed Producers must take 24 Credit Hours of Approved Continuing Education every 2 years, prior to their Expiration Date.
At least 3 of the 24 credit hours must be approved for Ethics Training.
Major Lines include:
- Life, Accident and Health
- Personal Lines
Producers licensed in multiple lines are only required to meet the same requirements as producers with single lines of licensing.
Tennessee CE Requirements are “Non-License Type Specific.” Producers can take courses in any subject matter as long as:
- They are approved by the Tennessee Department of Insurance
- At least 3 of credit hours are approved for Ethics training
Continuing Education requirements must be completed every 2 years, on or before the last day of the licensee’s birth month.
Producers continuously licensed since January 1, 1994 are exempt from CE Requirements
Other License Type Requirements
|Crop Adjuster||24 hours (3 hours must be in Ethics)|
|Public Adjuster||24 hours (3 hours must be in Ethics)|
Special Training Requirements
Property and Casualty Agents
Any producer who is authorized to sell Property Insurance must complete a one-time, 3 Hour continuing education course related to NFIP (National Flood Insurance Program) prior to selling.
Life and Health Agents
Any producer who sells, solicits or negotiates an Annuity Product must complete a one-time, 4 Hour Annuity Suitability course prior to selling.
Long Term Care
A producer may not sell, solicit or negotiate a Long-Term Care Insurance unless the individual has completed an initial 8 Hour Long Term Care training course. Producers must also complete ongoing training consisting of a 4 Hour Long Term Care training course every compliance period following.
Additional Continuing Education Information
- Excess credits of up to 12 Credit Hours may be carried forward to the next filing period.
- Excess Ethics Training carries over as a General Credit and will not be applied to future Ethics Training Requirement.
Enroll Today with No Regrets!
If you change your mind, we’ll happily refund your full purchase price.
Your License is Eligible for Renewal during your “License Renewal Period”. The License Renewal Period for Tennessee Licensed Producers begins 45 Days prior to their Expiration Date. There are 2 Options for Renewing your license:
- Online through NIPR, located here: TN Producer Renewal (NIPR)
- Online though Vertifore (Sircon): TN Producer Renewal (Sircon)
BetterCE License Renewal Service. BetterCE can process your renewal on your behalf for a fee of $20. Simply contact our office when you are ready to renew and we will process your application on your behalf.
While we strive to provide you with the most up to date and accurate information about your Tennessee Insurance License Renewal Requirements, there may be some specific licensing requirements, or changes in State Laws or Insurance Regulations which we may not be referenced above. Our goal is to assist you in every manner possible, but it is the responsibility of each individual producer to determine their specific licensing renewal requirements. You can locate additional information related to the Tennessee CE Requirements through the Department of Insurance website at www.tn.gov