Texas Insurance Agent Continuing Education and License Renewal Requirements
Texas General Lines Licensed Agents must take 24 Credit Hours of Approved Continuing Education every 2 years, prior to their Expiration Date. At least 2 of the 24 credit hours must be approved for Ethics Training and 12 hours must be classroom unless categorized as Classroom Equivalent.
General Lines Include: Life, Accident, Health, and HMO, Property, Casualty, Life Agent, Personal Lines, Managing General Agent, Adjusters and Public Adjusters, Life/Health Insurance Counselor, Insurance Service Representative, and Full time Home Office Employee
Producers licensed in multiple lines are only required to meet the same requirements as producers with single lines of licensing.
Texas CE Requirements are “Non-License Type Specific.” Producers can take courses in any subject matter as long as:
1) They are approved by the Texas Department of Insurance
2) At least 2 of credit hours are approved for Ethics credit
Continuing Education Requirements must be completed every 2 years, on or before the last day of the licensee’s birth month.
- 20 years of licensure needed to qualify for an exemption must be CONTINUOUS (no breaks greater that 90 days) and the license must be held under the Texas Insurance Code. To request an exemption from completing CE hours, or an extension of time to complete CE hours, submit TDI form FIN517, Application for Licensee Exemption or Extension
Texas Insurance Agent CE and Renewal Requirements Summary
|General Lines Agents||24 hours (2 hours must be in Ethics)|
|Limited Lines Agents||10 hours (2 hours must be in Ethics)|
|Life Insurance Agents Under $25,000||10 hours (2 hours must be in Ethics)|
|County Mutual||10 hours (2 hours must be in Ethics)|
Special Training Requirements
Property and Casualty Agents
Producers who sell Flood Insurance must complete a one-time, 3 Hour Continuing Education course related to NFIP (National Flood Insurance Program) prior to selling.
Life and Health Agents
Long Term Care
A producer may not sell, solicit or negotiate a Long-Term Care Partnership policy unless the individual has completed an initial 8 Hour Long Term Care training course. Agents must also complete ongoing training consisting of a 4 Hour Long Term Care training course every compliance period following.
A producer may not sell, solicit or negotiate an annuity product unless the individual has completed an initial 4 Hour Annuity Suitability training course. Agents must also complete ongoing training consisting of an 8 Hour Annuity Suitability training course every compliance period following.
Enroll Today with No Regrets!
If you change your mind, we’ll happily refund your full purchase price.
Your License is Eligible for Renewal during your “License Renewal Period”. The License Renewal Period for Texas Licensed Producers begins 60 Days prior to their Expiration Date. There are 2 Options for Renewing your license:
- Online through NIPR, located here: TX Agent Renewal (NIPR)
- Online through Vertifore (Sircon): TX Agent Renewal (Sircon)
While we strive to provide you with the most up to date and accurate information about your Texas Insurance License Renewal Requirements, there may be some specific licensing requirements, or changes in State Laws or Insurance Regulations which we may not be referenced above. Our goal is to assist you in every manner possible, but it is the responsibility of each individual agent to determine their specific licensing renewal requirements. You can locate additional information related to the Texas CE Requirements through the Department of Insurance website at https://www.tdi.texas.gov/agent/agcehome.html