This article will answer your questions about insurance license renewal in Arizona. Using BetterCE’s straightforward, two-step process, you can renew your Arizona insurance license smoothly and easily.
The requirements for renewing your Arizona insurance license are straightforward. First, make sure you know your license expiration date. In Arizona, insurance licenses expire every 4 years. The expiration date is on the last day of your birth month. You can start the renewal process up to 60 days before the expiration date.
If you’re uncertain about your license’s expiration date or need other license information, you can check your details, Continuing Education (CE) requirements, and credit balance anytime through the Arizona Department of Insurance portal.
Once you know when your license expires, follow these two steps to keep it active:
- Complete your Arizona insurance license continuing education requirements.
- Submit your renewal application and pay the associated fees before your expiration date.
Step #1: Complete Your Arizona Insurance License CE Requirements
All major lines licensed agents in Arizona are required to complete 48 credits of continuing education every 4 years before their license expiration date. Of the 48 credits required, at least 6 must be in courses approved for Ethics Training. Major lines include agents licensed to sell life, accident and sickness, property, casualty, and personal lines.
Even if you hold multiple licenses, you only need to complete a maximum of 48 credit hours. For example, if you have both a property and a life insurance license, you only need 48 credits.
Special Training Requirements for Arizona Insurance Agents
Special training requirements apply to agents selling certain products, and these courses count toward your CE requirements.
If you are licensed in a property line of authority and will be selling flood insurance, you must complete a one-time, three-hour course related to the National Flood Insurance Program.
If you’ll be selling, soliciting, or negotiating a long-term care partnership policy, you must complete an 8-hour long-term care training course. Additionally, you are required to complete a 4-hour ongoing training course every compliance period after the initial course is completed.
Both resident and non-resident life insurance producers must complete a one-time, four-hour annuity training course if they intend to transact annuities. Ongoing company-sponsored training on the topic is also required.
CE Exemptions and Restrictions
Exemptions from CE requirements are available in specific cases:
- If you’ve been “continuously licensed” in Arizona as an insurance agent, broker, or producer since January 1, 1995.
- You have not held a non-resident insurance producer license in another state at any time since January 1, 1995.
- You have never been subject to an order of the director of insurance for a violation of Arizona insurance laws (ARS Title 20) that resulted in your license being suspended, revoked, denied, or not renewed, or that required you to cease and desist from unlawful activity or pay restitution or a civil penalty.
- Non-resident agents are exempt as long as they meet the CE and Renewal Requirements of their home state where they hold their License.
- Active-Duty Military Personnel are exempt from CE and Renewal Requirements. However, this exemption must be requested in writing. To do so, email the Arizona Department of Insurance Agent Licensing Section at firstname.lastname@example.org. Notify them of your military status and include a copy of your orders. Make sure to do so at least 60 days prior to your license expiration/renewal date.
Course Repeat Restrictions
You won’t receive credit for the same course taken within the same renewal period.
Any credits earned in excess of the 48-credit requirements cannot be carried over to future renewal periods.
Step #2: Submit Your Arizona Insurance License Renewal Application
Once you have completed all of your CE requirements, you are ready to renew your Arizona insurance license. This must be done prior to your license expiration date and when you are within 60 days of the expiration date.
What Happens if I Miss the Arizona License Renewal Deadline?
If you don’t complete your renewal requirements prior to your license expiration date, your license will be considered inactive, and you won’t be allowed to conduct insurance business. However, you have up to one year to reinstate your license as long as you:
- Complete your CE requirements and submit your renewal application
- Pay a $100 reinstatement fee as well as your $120 renewal fee.
If your license has been inactive for more than one year, you’ll need to complete the full reapplication process, including fingerprinting, and pass a licensing exam.
Start Your Arizona License Renewal Continuing Education Now
Even though you have four years to complete your 48 hours of continuing education, it’s always best to start as soon as possible. BetterCE offers all the courses you’ll need to fulfill your requirements, as listed in our Arizona Insurance Continuing Education Course Catalog.
If you prefer live instruction, take a look at our catalog of Arizona webinar courses. This format eliminates final exams and gives you the chance to interact with your instructor.
We also offer text-based courses that you can complete anywhere, anytime! When taking quizzes and exams, you can re-test as many times as you need. You can access all of our courses from a web browser or mobile device.
Completions Reported the Same Day – Fast and Reliable CE Credit Reporting
Unlike most other CE providers, BetterCE offers same-day credit reporting. We report twice daily, so your credits will be submitted to your Department of Insurance within hours of completing your coursework. Keep in mind that it usually takes the Department of Insurance up to 24 hours to process these submissions and make your renewal application available to you. We strongly encourage agents to complete their CE requirements at least 2 days in advance of their license expiration date.
Summary of Steps to Keep Your Arizona Insurance License Active
Renewing your Arizona insurance license is an important process. Let’s briefly summarize the steps involved.
- Determine your license expiration date
- Determine your continuing education requirements
- Enroll in courses well in advance of your expiration date
- Complete your courses
- Renew your license
Everything you need to renew your Arizona insurance license is available through our website. Should you have any questions, feel free to call our office, where our compliance support professionals will be delighted to assist you.
If your renewal date is approaching, don’t wait until the last minute! Sign up for courses now through BetterCE and experience the most trusted and convenient way to keep your license active.
Get Started Now – Renew Your Arizona Insurance License on Time!
At BetterCE, we’ve proudly helped hundreds of thousands of insurance agents navigate their licensing requirements and renewal processes. Our commitment to providing affordable, convenient CE solutions is matched only by our reliable, expert support. Join our community of satisfied agents and experience the ease and excellence of BetterCE today!
If you have a question or need help, call 1-888-501-7330 for our customer care team. Then, fill out our Contact Form and get a conversation started with us today!