Oklahoma Insurance Agent Continuing Education and License Renewal Requirements
Oklahoma Major Lines Licensed Producers must take 24 Credit Hours of Approved Continuing Education every 2 years, prior to their Expiration Date.
24 hours should consist of:
- 3 hours of Ethics
- 2 hours of Legislative Update
- 19 hours of General CE
A licensee holding a Property Line of Authority is required to complete a 1 hour Earthquake course as part of their 19 General credit hours.
Major Lines include:
- Variable Lines
- Personal Lines
Producers licensed in multiple lines are only required to meet the same requirements as producers with single lines of licensing.
Oklahoma CE Requirements are “License Type Specific.” Producers must take courses in a subject manner related to their license type as long as:
- They are approved by the Oklahoma Department of Insurance
- At least 3 credit hours are approved for Ethics training
- At least 2 credit hours must be on Oklahoma Legislative updates
- Property Agents must complete a 1 hour Earthquake course
Continuing Education requirements must be completed every 2 years, on or before the last day of the licensee’s birth month.
Oklahoma Insurance CE and Renewal Requirements Summary
|Title||16 hours (2 hours must be in Ethics, 2 hours must be in Legislative Updates)|
|Customer Service Representative||13 hours (3 hours must be in Ethics, 2 hours must be in Legislative Updates)|
|Resident Adjusters||24 hours (3 hours must be in Ethics, 2 hours must be in Legislative Updates)|
Special Training Requirements
Property and Casualty Agents
Producers who sell Flood Insurance must complete a one-time, 3 Hour Continuing Education course related to NFIP (National Flood Insurance Program).
Life and Health Agents
A producer who sells, solicits or negotiates an Annuity Product must complete a one-time, 4 Hour Annuity Suitability course prior to selling.
Long Term Care
A producer may not sell, solicit or negotiate a Long-Term Care Insurance unless the individual has completed an initial 8 Hour Long Term Care training course. Producers must also complete ongoing training consisting of a 4 Hour Long Term Care training course every compliance period following.
Additional Continuing Education Information
- Excess credits of up 6 credit hour may be carried forward to the next filing period.
- Excess Ethics Training carries over as a General Credit and will not be applied to future Ethics Training Requirement.
Enroll Today with No Regrets!
If you change your mind, we’ll happily refund your full purchase price.
Your License is Eligible for Renewal during your “License Renewal Period”. The License Renewal Period for Oklahoma Licensed Producers begins 90 Days prior to their Expiration Date. There are 2 Options for Renewing your license:
- Online through NIPR, located here: OK Producer Renewal (NIPR)
- Online though Vertafore (Sircon): OK Producer Renewal (Sircon)
BetterCE License Renewal Service. BetterCE can process your renewal on your behalf for a fee of $20. Simply contact our office when you are ready to renew and we will process your application on your behalf.
While we strive to provide you with the most up to date and accurate information about your Oklahoma Insurance License Renewal Requirements, there may be some specific licensing requirements, or changes in State Laws or Insurance Regulations which we may not be referenced above. Our goal is to assist you in every manner possible, but it is the responsibility of each individual producer to determine their specific licensing renewal requirements. You can locate additional information related to the Oklahoma CE Requirements through the Department of Insurance website at www.ok.gov