This article will answer your questions about insurance license renewal in Oklahoma. Using BetterCE’s straightforward, two-step process, you can renew your Oklahoma insurance license smoothly and easily.
The requirements for renewing your Oklahoma insurance license are pretty basic. First, make sure you know your license expiration date. In Oklahoma, insurance licenses expire every two years on the last day of your birth month, biennially. The renewal period begins 90 days prior to the expiration date – so if you are outside of 90 days from your license expiration date, you will not be able to renew your license yet.
If you are unsure of your expiration date or other license information, you can view your license detail, CE Requirements, and balance of earned credits at any time through the Oklahoma Insurance Department’s online portal.
Once you know when your license expires, follow these two steps to keep it active:
- Complete your Oklahoma insurance license continuing education requirements.
- Submit your renewal application and pay the associated fees before your expiration date.
Step #1: Complete Your Oklahoma Insurance License CE Requirements
All Major Lines Licensed Insurance Agents in Oklahoma are required to complete 24 credits of continuing education (CE) every 2 years before their license expires. Of the 24 required credits, at least 3 must be in the category of Ethics Training, and 2 must be in Oklahoma Legislative Updates. The remaining credits (non-license specific) can be taken in any approved subject matter.
Major Lines include: Life, Accident and Sickness, Property, Casualty, and Personal Lines. Agents with multiple lines of licensing have the same requirements as agents with single lines. You only need to complete 24 credit hours of CE if even if you hold multiple lines of licensing.
Special Training Requirements for Oklahoma Insurance Agents
There are special training requirements for agents selling long-term care, annuity, and flood insurance. These courses will generally apply towards your CE requirements if taken from an approved CE provider.
Any Oklahoma life insurance agent who sells, solicits, or negotiates an annuity product must complete a one-time, 4-hour Annuity Suitability course prior to selling.
Long Term Care
Oklahoma insurance agents may not sell, solicit, or negotiate a Long-Term Care policy unless the individual has completed an initial 8-hour Long Term Care training course. Agents must also complete ongoing training consisting of a 4-hour Long Term Care training course every compliance period following.
CE Exemptions and Reductions
There are limited exemptions from CE Requirements for some Oklahoma insurance agents.
Non-Resident Agents are exempt as long as they have met the CE and Renewal Requirements of their home State where they hold their license. Limited lines producers and Members of the Legislature are exempt from CE Requirements.
Course Repeat Restrictions
Agents will not receive credit for the same course taken within two years from the last completion date.
A maximum of 6 excess credits taken of the 24 credit requirements can be carried over to future renewal periods.
Late Renewal and Reinstatements
Agents can renew up to 3 days past the expiration date through the Oklahoma Insurance License Renewal app at NIPR. After 3 days, the licensee must reinstate or reapply through the initial license application for up to one year. The original renewal fee of $60 as well as a late fee of $60 must be submitted with the application. After one year, the licensee must retest with pre licensing courses and relicense.
Step #2: Submit Your Oklahoma Insurance License Renewal Application
Once you have completed all of your CE requirements, you are ready to renew your Oklahoma insurance license. This must be done prior to your license expiration date and when you are within 90 days of the expiration date.
When you are ready to renew, you can do so through NIPR.com or the Sircon.com. The renewal fee for Oklahoma is $60 for a producer license.
What Happens if I Miss the Oklahoma License Renewal Deadline?
If you don’t complete your renewal requirements prior to your license expiration date, it will render your license inactive, and you won’t be allowed to conduct insurance business. However, you have up to 1 year to reinstate your license as long as you:
- Complete your CE requirements and submit your renewal application
- Pay a $60 renewal fee + a $60 reinstatement fee as well as your $5.60 renewal processing fee.
If your license has been inactive for more than one year, you’ll need to complete the full re-application process, including fingerprinting. You’ll also need to pass a licensing exam.
Start Your Oklahoma License Renewal Continuing Education Now
Even though you have two years to complete your 24 hours of continuing education, it’s always best to start as soon as possible. BetterCE offers all the courses you’ll need to fulfill your requirements. You can view them all in our Oklahoma Insurance Continuing Education Course Catalog.
If you prefer live instruction, take a look at our catalog of Oklahoma webinar courses. You won’t have to worry about any final exams when using this course format, and you’ll have the chance to interact with your instructor.
We also offer text-based courses that you can complete anywhere, anytime! When taking quizzes and exams, you can re-test as many times as you need. For added convenience, you can access all of our courses from a web browser or mobile device.
Completions Reported the Same Day – Fast and Reliable CE Credit Reporting
Unlike most other CE providers, BetterCE offers same-day credit reporting. We report twice daily, so your credits will be submitted to the Oklahoma Insurance Department within hours of completing your coursework. Keep in mind that it usually takes the Insurance Department up to 24 hours to process these submissions and make your renewal application available to you. So, we strongly encourage agents to complete their CE requirements at least 2 days in advance of their license expiration date.
Summary of Steps to Keep Your Oklahoma Insurance License Active
Renewing your Oklahoma insurance license is an important process. Let’s briefly summarize the steps involved.
- Determine your license expiration date
- Determine your continuing education requirements
- Enroll in courses well in advance of your expiration date
- Complete your courses
- Renew your license
Everything you need to renew your Oklahoma insurance license is available through our website at BetterCE.com. Should you have any questions, feel free to call our office, where our compliance support professionals will be delighted to assist you.
If your renewal date is approaching, don’t wait until the last minute! Sign up for courses now through BetterCE and experience the most trusted and convenient way to keep your license active.
Get Started Now – Renew Your Oklahoma Insurance License on Time!!
At BetterCE, we’ve proudly helped hundreds of thousands of insurance agents in navigating their licensing requirements and renewal processes. Our commitment to providing affordable, convenient CE solutions is matched only by our reliable, expert support. Join our community of satisfied agents and experience the ease and excellence of BetterCE today!
If you have a question or need help, call 1-888-501-7330 for our customer care team. Then, fill out our Contact Form and get a conversation started with us today!