Wisconsin Insurance Agent Continuing Education and License Renewal Requirements
Wisconsin Major Lines Licensed Agents must take 24 Credit Hours of Approved Continuing Education every 2 years, prior to their Expiration Date.
At least 3 of the 24 credit hours must be approved for Ethics Training.
Major Lines include:
- Life, Accident and Health
- Personal Lines
Agents licensed in multiple lines are only required to meet the same requirements as agents with single lines of licensing.
Wisconsin CE Requirements are “Non-License Type Specific.” Agents can take courses in any subject matter as long as:
- They are approved by the Wisconsin Department of Insurance
- At least 3 of credit hours are approved for Ethics credit
Continuing education requirements must be completed every 2 years, on or before the last day of the licensee’s birth month.
Limited Lines Licensees do not need to complete CE Requirements.
A CE Waiver may be granted to those who have extreme circumstances such as a medial incapacity, military duty, or another emergency situation. Waiver requests must be submitted 90 days prior to the license expiration date.
Wisconsin Insurance CE and Renewal Requirements Summary
|Navigator Individual||8 hours|
Special Training Requirements
Property and Casualty Agents
Any agent who sells Flood Insurance must complete a one-time, 3 Hour continuing education course related to NFIP (National Flood Insurance Program) prior to selling.
Life and Health Agents
Any agent who sells, solicits or negotiates an Annuity Product must complete a one-time, 4 Hour Annuity Suitability course prior to selling.
Long Term Care
An agent may not sell, solicit or negotiate a Long-Term Care Partnership policy unless the individual has completed an initial 8 Hour Long Term Care training course. Agents must also complete ongoing training consisting of a 4 Hour Long Term Care training course every compliance period following.
Enroll Today with No Regrets!
If you change your mind, we’ll happily refund your full purchase price.
Your License is Eligible for Renewal during your “License Renewal Period”. The License Renewal Period for Wisconsin Licensed Agents begins 60 Days prior to their Expiration Date. There are 2 Options for Renewing your license:
- Online through NIPR, located here: WI Agent Renewal (NIPR)
- Online though Vertifore (Sircon): WI Agent Renewal (Sircon)
BetterCE License Renewal Service. BetterCE can process your renewal on your behalf for a fee of $20. Simply contact our office when you are ready to renew and we will process your application on your behalf.
While we strive to provide you with the most up to date and accurate information about your Wisconsin Insurance License Renewal Requirements, there may be some specific licensing requirements, or changes in State Laws or Insurance Regulations which we may not be referenced above. Our goal is to assist you in every manner possible, but it is the responsibility of each individual agent to determine their specific licensing renewal requirements. You can locate additional information related to the Wisconsin CE Requirements through the Department of Insurance website at oci.wi.gov