In the Lone Star State, you need to renew your insurance license every two years. This must be done prior to your license expiration date, which is the last day of your birth month. If you don’t complete your continuing education hours in time, there’s a $50 fine per hour up to a maximum $500 fine. Plus, you won’t be able to renew until all Texas continuing education requirements are completed.
Your license will be inactivated if you fail to complete all this during the 90-day grace period after the expiration date. However, you still have up to 1 year to reapply for your expired license without retaking the licensing examination. To do so, you must still complete the required CE, pay the fine of $50 per deficient credit hour, and pay the fees for an original application fee, plus a penalty fee of one-half of the original application fee.
Those are some onerous outcomes for failing to complete your Texas Insurance License Continuing Education requirements. So, what are the options? This article covers the four ways to complete the CE requirements required to allow you to renew your license.
What Are the Texas Insurance Continuing Education Requirements?
Texas General Lines Licensed Agents must take 24 credit hours of approved continuing education every two years. At least two of the 24 hours must be approved for ethics training. And 12 hours must be classroom or classroom equivalent training. Our webinars are approved as classroom equivalent training. There are no restrictions on the course subject matter, except for the two hours of ethics training.
Agents who sell flood insurance must complete a one-time three-hour continuing education course related to the National Flood Insurance Program. Long-term care partnership policy sales require an initial eight-hour training course followed by a four-hour long-term care course every two years. Those selling annuity products must complete an initial annuity best interest four-hour course followed by eight hours of continuing education each renewal period.
Texas Online Text-Based Continuing Education Courses
With an online text-based course, course materials are like a textbook but much more interactive. The training is self-paced and delivered to your computer, tablet, and smartphone. You can select the courses you need, enroll, and start courses at any time.
You’ll review the course materials and complete chapter quizzes along with a final exam for each course. During the course, you can return to the training whenever it is convenient for your schedule. The course progress bar tells you exactly where you left off.
The course quizzes and exams are scored instantly. Plus, you can take them as many times as necessary to pass. Upon passing each class, a certificate is generated and available for printing or download. Credits earned are reported by BetterCE to the Texas Department of Insurance the same day each course is completed.
Texas Webinar Continuing Education Courses
As noted earlier, for Texas Insurance Continuing Education, 12 hours must be classroom or classroom equivalent training. Better CE webinars are approved as classroom equivalent training.
Webinar courses are like traditional classroom courses. They are instructor-led and delivered live in real-time using video conferencing. You’ll need to be present at the webinar for the entire class to earn continuing education credits. Attendance is confirmed by requiring students to check in at random times throughout the webinar.
Students are not seen in video conferences, but they can interact and ask questions. Like online text-based courses, webinars are available to be taken on any computer, smartphone, or tablet with an Internet connection.
Certificates of course completion are generated shortly after course completion. Credits are reported to the Texas Department of Insurance the same day as completion.
Since webinars are live video conferences, they are offered at set times. They must be scheduled and attended on the dates and times offered. For more information on webinars, see our article 8 Benefits of Insurance Continuing Education Webinars.
State and National Insurance Association Texas Continuing Education Credit
Up to four hours of Texas Self-Study CE credit can be earned by an agent who is an active member of a state or national insurance association or holds a national designation certification.
Fulfilling the CE requirements involves reviewing educational materials provided by the association, which can count for up to two hours of credit. Attending educational presentations provided by the national designation sponsor or state or national insurance associations can receive up to four hours of credit.
The licensee cannot claim more than four hours of credit under this section toward completing the licensee’s continuing education requirement for any reporting period. See more at State and National Insurance Association Credit.
Texas Insurance Continuing Education Exemptions
There is also an exemption from continuing education for those who have been continuously licensed for 20 years. To request an exemption or extension, you’ll need to submit form FIN517, Application for License Exemption or Extension.
For further information on Texas insurance continuing education requirements, see our article How Do I Renew My Insurance License in Texas. Or, if your license has expired, see our article How to Reinstate Your Texas Insurance License.
Sign Up for Continuing Education Now
You’ll need to select at least 12 hours of training via webinars to satisfy the Texas requirement for courses taken in a classroom setting or equivalent. Up to 12 hours can be obtained through online text-based courses.
We’ve got you covered with all the courses you need. You can find the complete listing in Texas Insurance Continuing Education Course Catalog.
Completion Reported the Same Day
Note that your continuing education course credits will be reported directly to the Texas Department of Insurance on the same day you complete the training. So, we’ve got you covered when you’re trying to complete your training quickly.
We’re Here to Help
We’re confident that the continuing education you need to renew your license is easily accessible through our website. If not, call our office, and we’ll happily assist you.
At BetterCE, we provide more than the most convenient and affordable solution for insurance continuing education. Our agent support services are provided by experienced insurance licensing professionals who have helped thousands of agents easily navigate the renewal process.
Have a question or need assistance? Phone 1-888-501-7330 for our customer care team. We also respond to emails as well as via our Contact Form. On our contact page, you can also sign up for convenient license renewal reminders so that you never have to deal with an expired license.