This article covers all the steps you’ll need to follow to keep your insurance license active in Oregon. We’re confident that the BetterCE straightforward two-step process can help you renew your license quickly and without fuss.
Every two years, you need to renew your insurance license. This must be done within 90 days prior to the license expiration date, which is on the last day of your birth month.
There are only two steps required to keep your license active:
- Complete the required continuing education.
- Submit your renewal application prior to expiration.
Step #1: Complete the Required Continuing Education
The Oregon Department of Financial Regulation requires that all major lines licensed agents complete 24 credit hours of state-approved continuing education every two years. Major lines are those agents who are licensed to sell: Life, Health, Property, Casualty, Variable Lines, and Personal Lines. Of the 24 credits required, at least 3 credits must be approved for ethics, and at least 3 credits must be taken in courses approved for Oregon statutes and administrative rules.
Oregon course requirements are “license type-specific.” This means agents must take courses specifically approved for their license type. As one example, agents who hold a life insurance license only must take courses approved for life insurance agents. Agents who hold more than one type of license (Life and Health, for example) can take courses approved for at least one of the license types held, or a combination of courses approved for both of the license types held.
Special training requirements exist for agents selling long-term care, annuity, or flood insurance.
- Agents who sell long-term care policies must complete an initial 8-hour long-term care course prior to selling and then a 4-hour long-term care training every renewal period following.
- Any producer who sells Annuity products must complete a one-time 4-hour annuity suitability training prior to selling.
- Property and Casualty Agents who sell flood insurance must complete a one-time 3-hour continuing education course related to the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) prior to selling.
Step #2: Submit Your Renewal Application Prior to Expiration
After completing your CE requirements, the last step you need to take is to renew your Oregon insurance license. This must be done on or prior to your license expiration date but not more than 90 days in advance of your expiration date.
Now Is the Time to Start Your Continuing Education
Even with a full two years to accumulate your 24 hours of continuing education, there’s no reason to wait to get started. BetterCE has you covered with all the courses you need. You can find the complete listing in our Oregon Insurance Continuing Education Course Catalog.
The online training is self-paced and delivered to your computer, tablet, and smartphone. The quizzes and exams are scored instantly, and you can take them as many times as necessary to pass. Plus, you can return to the training whenever it is convenient. The course progress bar tells you exactly where you left off.
Our webinar courses are instructor-led and delivered live using video conferencing. You’re required to be in attendance for the entire class time, with check-ins at random times throughout the webinar to confirm your attendance. Students can interact and ask questions. The advantages of webinars include no required reading and no quizzes or final exams. You can view a listing of our webinars here: Oregon Webinar Catalog.
Completions Reported the Same Day
Note that our office will report your continuing education course credits to the Oregon Department of Financial Regulation on the same day you complete the training. So, if you’re in a rush to complete your continuing education, we’ve got you covered.
It’s important to note that per Oregon law, no more than 8 hours of continuing education credit can be given in any one day. So don’t wait to start, and don’t try cramming the required training into just a few days.
Summary of Steps to Keep Your Insurance License Active in Oregon
Even though we’ve mapped it out above, it’s still a great deal to digest. Here’s a quick summary to get you started on the path to renewal.
- Determine your license expiration date.
- Determine your continuing education requirements.
- Enroll in courses well in advance of your expiration date.
- Complete your courses – we submit your credits the same day you complete them.
- Renew your license.
We’re confident that everything you need to keep your license active is easily accessible through our website. If not, simply call our office, and we’ll happily assist you.
There’s no time to be lost if you’re near your renewal date. Sign up now for the most trusted and convenient solution for keeping your license active.
We’re Here to Help
At BetterCE, we provide more than the most convenient and affordable solution for insurance continuing education. Our agent support services are provided by experienced insurance licensing professionals who have helped thousands of agents navigate the renewal process easily.
Have a question or need assistance? Phone 1-888-501-7330 for our customer care team. We also respond to email as well as via our Contact Form. You can also sign up for convenient license renewal reminders on our contact page.